Body Positivity

Beauty is multi-faceted. Beauty is both your outer appearance and internal feelings/emotions towards yourself. Today’s post focuses on loving the skin you’re in.

I wanted to write a post about body-positivity. Being comfortable in your own skin is important. Acknowledging inner beauty is as significant as recognizing outer beauty. Sometimes this can be easier said than done. Becoming comfortable in my own skin was something I struggled with for a little while. My body is not perfect. In truth, nobody has a “perfect” body.

Becoming comfortable in your own skin will not happen overnight – it did not for me!  Courage, and confidence are integral aspects of overcoming fear and doubts about yourself. This is especially true when it comes to your body.

I now realize that these scars make me who I am. My surgical scars are permanent reminders of my strength. Scars tell stories, stories of hope, courage, and strength. 

When you are happy with your body, you glow. I came across a story in Huffington Post, published last year, that sparked the idea for this post. The campaign is called “Every Body Has a Story”. It encourages women to overcome insecurities, and love their bodies. This message inspired the idea that our bodies tell our stories. Our imperfections make us who we are.

Body positivity is about accepting your flaws, and reclaiming your body. Loving the skin you are in can inspire you, motivate you, and instill confidence. After all, beauty is multi-dimensional.

 

BLOG SIGNATURE

10 thoughts on “Body Positivity

  1. Loved this. Self-acceptance is the first step in honestly living authentically. Striving to live outside ourselves rather than constantly being drivien into our insecurities is a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this. So important. And kudos to you for showing your body. I like the angle about every body has a story. I love this. I think I will write my bodies story. Maybe from my body’s perspective. I love it when knew ways of seeing things open up for me. Thanks for the Like on my blogpost on learningtocry.wordpress.com and for your special post here.
    I have issues with the fact that I had big babies and I am a small woman, so my belly looks different and I often have a hard time accepting that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

