About Me

10 Things I’ve Learned in My 20s

Although I’ve newly entered my 20s, I’ve learned a lot in the past year and a half. For us Millennials, the 20s are a time of trial and error. We’re still learning, growing, and developing.

1. Never settle

This counts for anything from relationships to a job. I’ve heard this piece of advice time and time again, and always sticks with me. I have learned that if there’s an aspect of my life I’m not content with, I have the control to change it.

2. There is beauty in everything

It’s possible to unearth beauty in anything. While I may not believe it 100% of the time, I’m beautiful. As I’ve alluded to in earlier posts, beauty is both internal and external. Beauty is not only just within yourself, it’s also found in all aspects of life.

3. If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again

It sounds cliche, but if you aren’t successful the first time, keep trying. I’ve learned this many times. All goals, and dreams, are attainable. Some may take longer than others. Some may include a failure or two. But if you work towards a goal long enough, you’ll achieve it.

4. Self-care is important, too

Maintaining mental and physical health are equally important. I truly recognized how important self-care is upon completing my social work placement. It’s difficult to take care of others until you take care of yourself first.

5. Say no to people/places/things that don’t add value to your life 

Letting go is hard, but liberating. It is scary to let go of people who have been a constant in your life, whether it’s been for months or years. I realized myself the feeling of change that occurs once someone is let go from my life. It feels different – strange even – for a while. With time, I adapted to the new normal.

6. Strength will guide you

I learned this before turning 20, but it still holds true today. Strength and resilience guided me to where I am today. These two qualities were important keys to overcoming adversity. I often say I’m like a rubber band – I always bounce back. Strength and resilience guide you, shape you, and empower you.

7. See the best in people

Not seeing the best in people won’t benefit you, or them. See beyond imperfections and flaws to recognize the other person’s qualities.

8. Being selfish is okay sometimes

Sometimes you need to be selfish; take time for yourself to relax and indulge. Decompressing and focusing on yourself does wonders for your health and well-being. After a busy few months, I’m taking time for self-care and relaxation.

9. A good night’s sleep does wonders 

Sleep heals and repairs. I’ve often heard how a good nights sleep will heal most ailments, and I certainly believe its true. Unwinding and recharging with sleep helps, and does wonders for the mind and body.

10. Surround yourself with people who reflect who you want to be

Energy is contagious. I’ve learned to surround myself with people who share the same energies as I do. This has contributed to increased happiness and motivation.

What are pieces of advice have YOU learned as a Millennial? I would love to hear about it! 

 

http___signatures-mylivesignature-com_54494_363_c06b768c89a4c626dbc79edf2ff28823

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “10 Things I’ve Learned in My 20s”

  1. I adore this post! Especially saying no to people that don’t add value to your life and the part about self care. It’s something I have had to learn about myself that it’s ok to take time for myself. Thank you for this post – a little reminder for me.

    I would say the biggest thing I have learned at 20 (now 21) is that being motivated to achieve your passions is important and amazing and if people aren’t willing to join you on that journey then don’t pursue those people and focus on your goal – similar to what you have said. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love this post!!! I agree with all of these 🙂 My biggest one would go along with your point of being selfish sometimes. I’m 25 so I’m a bit older but I say that if there’s something that makes you happy, do it!!!! I used this year to learn how to ride a horse, a life long dream of mine, and I’m so happy I did. I don’t regret the time, effort, or money I put into it because I got so much more out of it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

