Uncategorized

How I Plan and Organize My Weekly Blog Posts

To celebrate my (almost!) 6 month blog anniversary, I’ve decided to share insight into how I plan and organize my posts. I generally separate my process into three parts:

Step 1 – Planning/Organizing

I plan the dates to post each product review once I have new products. Those are the posts I plan first. I often search Pinterest for inspiration for my other posts. I record all ideas/titles in a notebook, organizing by date. I post on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I devote specific content on each day. I post various beauty or lifestyle topics (e.g. 20 Things I’ve Learned in My 20s) on Mondays. Wednesday is devoted to tips. I post a product review each Friday.

Step 2 – Writing 

The length of my writing process depends on the post. I plan my product reviews weeks in advance, and draft ideas for the posts before I begin writing in-depth. Collaboration posts (such as this one for Adore Me) are written in a shorter time frame to accommodate the schedule of the person I am collaborating with. I draft each post within WordPress.

Step 3 – Editing

I edit using Hemingway Editor. This program relies on readability, and edits writing to eliminate passive voice, adverbs, etc. I use CoSchedule’s Headline Analyzer to refine my post titles. Editing posts is the quickest part of my blogging process.

What is your blogging process like?


 

3 thoughts on “How I Plan and Organize My Weekly Blog Posts”

Leave a Reply

