How to Make Any Lipstick Matte

Matte-finish lipsticks are quite popular. I prefer matte finishes due to their longevity. I have a few lipsticks in my collection with a shine or creme finish, and I decided to research ways to turn them matte. In today’s post, I share the tips I use to turn all my lipsticks matte!

1. Apply a translucent powder between lipstick layers 

This trick is my favourite. I apply one layer of lipstick, and hold a tissue between my lips. I then dust translucent powder over the tissue, and apply a second coat of lipstick. The tissue filters the amount of powder applied to the lips. Applying a translucent powder to the lips absorbs the creme ingredients in the lipstick. I use M.A.C. Prep+Prime Transparent Finishing Powder.

2. Buy a product that transforms the finish

Most drugstores and major beauty outlets carry products designed to transform a lipstick finish. Smashbox, for example, sells an Insta-Matte Lipstick Transformer. This gel transforms any lipstick finish to matte.

3. Use eyeshadow

The translucent powder trick may not work for dark lipstick colours. In this circumstance, using a matte eyeshadow in a colour close to the lipstick will work! Apply the eyeshadow to over the lipstick using a small brush. You can also use translucent powder to avoid fallout.

4. Use tissue paper

If you don’t have the above products on hand, simply dabbing tissue paper on the lips. This removes the shine from the lipstick. Lightly dab the tissue on your lips after applying the lipstick.

Have you tried turning your lipsticks matte? If you’ve used any of these tricks, or others, I would love to hear about them! 

http___signatures-mylivesignature-com_54494_363_c06b768c89a4c626dbc79edf2ff28823

3 thoughts on “How to Make Any Lipstick Matte

Leave a Reply

