4 Cozy Self-Care Rituals to Try During the Winter Season

I often discuss self-care and its importance here on my blog. I engage in self-care often, as I continue my education. I find it especially useful during the winter season, when the weather is cold, dark, and dreary. In today’s blog post, I’ll discuss the self-care rituals I engage in on a regular basis. I also share ones I’ve discovered that may be useful to you, too, during this season.

Let light in

Winter is the prime season for an increase in SAD (or Seasonal Affective Disorder). This is a seasonal depression that results from the changing seasons. A lack of sunlight can attribute to sluggishness and a general moody feeling, also. To compensate for increased darkness in the winter, I light candles throughout the house. I often light a lavender-scented candle in my office while writing and studying.

Take a bath

Drawing a nightly bath is helpful for many reasons. It relieves stress, detoxifies and helps relieve colds/sinus infections. These conditions which often  up during the winter season. A soothing bath can include anything from bubbles to a bath bomb.

Stay hydrated

When most people think of hydration, summer comes to mind. Drinking water and staying hydrated has health benefits all year-round. Consuming enough water throughout the day helps you stay healthy throughout the winter season. I aim for 6 glasses per day to achieve the following health benefits:

It’s okay to take a break

It’s easy to get swept up in the bustle of the season. The winter season can bring pressure and expectations. That’s why it’s never a bad idea to take a step back from your to-do lists and projects to rest and rejuvenate.

How do you engage in self-care during the winter season?

 

http___signatures-mylivesignature-com_54494_363_c06b768c89a4c626dbc79edf2ff28823

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “4 Cozy Self-Care Rituals to Try During the Winter Season

  1. Great tips! I do a lot of these as well. I really need to step up on my water intake though. It’s definitely a goal of mine. One of my nightly routines to help calm my stress is to put spearmint and chamomile essential oils in my Vics vaporizer. It helps relax me and I rest better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

