Meet the Millennial Blogger: How and Why I’ve Grown to View Beauty, Strength, and Positivity in My Physical Disability


Hello lovelies!

Find beauty, strength, and positivity in everything.
 
If you have followed my blog for a while, you will remember when I wrote this post last fall. I toyed around with the idea of expanding upon the post. I share my story hoping that it will let you get to know me better. I write this post to inspire.
 
Behind the Blogger
 
My name is Erin Angela. I’m a blogger from Canada. I have a physical disability, called Cerebral Palsy (CP). CP is a movement disorder that results from brain damage. My diagnosis came at birth. Despite being told I would likely never walk or talk, I thrived. I am now in university, studying social work.
 
On Beauty
 
Beauty is more than skin deep. Inner beauty radiates and shines. My disability gifted me with negative and positive views of beauty. Once I entered my teenage years, my scars and imperfections were a source of displeasure. It took time to accept my surgical scars. I slowly grew to love them. I gained true appreciation for them. On the other end of the beauty spectrum, I learned to recognize beauty in the most unlikely of places. I learned to recognize my inner beauty. I learned to recognize my uniqueness.
 
On Strength
 
When faced with a challenge or setback, I thrive. Despite difficult recovery periods, I bounced back twice as strong. It is sometimes difficult to find strength within yourself. My strength has served as a way to cope and thrive with my disability.
 
On Positivity
 
A positive outlook is essential for living with a disability. I’ve always held a happy-go-lucy, positive attitude. I view my disability as positive: Without a disability, I would not be pursuing a social work career. I would not have encountered many incredible experiences throughout my lifetime. Developing a positive attitude is not easy, though. I became determined to focus on the positive aspects of my disability.
How do you face life challenges? 
http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_363_C06B768C89A4C626DBC79EDF2FF28823

 

3 thoughts on “Meet the Millennial Blogger: How and Why I’ve Grown to View Beauty, Strength, and Positivity in My Physical Disability

Leave a Reply

