REVIEW: Tarte Cosmetics Creamy Matte Lip Paint

Hello, lovelies!

I bought this liquid lipstick while searching for new brands to test. As you know, I am a huge fan of liquid lipstick. I own an extensive collection of Anastasia Beverly Hills and Kat Von D lipsticks. I bought Tarte Cosmetics Creamy Matte Lip Paint to compare another brand to my collection.

The Packaging 

The lipstick comes in a cardboard case that features a mixture of stripes. Half the stripes are gold. The other half reflect the colour of the lipstick inside. The lipstick itself is in a container with a wand. The wand has a doe-foot applicator.

The Colour 

Tartiest Creamy Matte Lip Paint is available in 19 matte shades. I bought the colour Manbun. Manbun is described as a “dark berry” but appears brown with a hint of berry once on the lips. It gives a great pop of deeper colour.

The Formula

My biggest issue with the lipstick is the formula. It is mousey in texture, and glides across the lips. However, once I applied it, the colour began to patch and bleed instantly. Compared to other liquid lipsticks in my collection, the lipstick is not long-wearing. I did not find this lipstick wearable because of this. The lipstick has a minty flavour. The mousse texture makes the lipstick comfortable to wear.

I did not enjoy this lipstick as much as others that are in my collection. While it does have redeeming qualities, the patchy wear and deep colour did not suit my typical lipstick preferences. I have not tried a lighter colour for comparison, but if you have, let me know in the comments!

 

Tarte Tartiest Creamy Matte Lip Paint retails for $24 at Sephora.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Tarte Cosmetics Creamy Matte Lip Paint

  1. Maybe it’s because it’s a bold colour? I have it in a mauve nude and it actually works really nicely. I agree with the mousse-iness being a bit annoying but sometimes I like how lightweight it feels. Loved reading this x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

