Categories
Uncategorized

3 Common Blogger Mistakes You’re Probably Making and How to Avoid Them

Hello, lovelies! There’s no single way to blog, but there are common mistakes that new bloggers can make. I started my blog over a year ago and learned a lot of these mistakes myself. With a few tweaks and tips, I overcame these mistakes to improve my blogging. These are 3 common mistakes:

NO PROMOTION

Publishing a new blog post on your personal Facebook page is one way to increase page views, but your content is likely to only be seen by your Facebook friends list. Posting to Facebook is not enough. Share your content on other social media websites, or groups dedicated to blog promotion to increase your reach and page views. A helpful hint is to tell your audience about the blog post, instead of simply leaving the link on the page.

NO OR LOW QUALITY PHOTOS

Blogs are largely about visuals. I like to include one main photo that captures the essence of my blog post. If I am writing a product review, I will often also include swatches of the product to demonstrate the colour/texture. Multiple editing tools exist to enhance and refine your photos to make them more appealing. Practice makes perfect, and keep practicing your photography until you’re happy.

NO PLANNING/CONSISTENCY

I publish new blog posts 3 times a week. I publish on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday while devoting each day to a specific topic. I plan my posts extensively before I begin to write them, and this actually speeds up the writing process. Consistency is key to maintain an active following. Try using a calendar to schedule content and keep your blogging on track.

What are common mistakes you made as a new blogger? Do you have any tips to share to avoid common mistakes?

By Erin Angela

24 year old beauty and lifestyle blogger. I write to share knowledge gained throughout my life, a glimpse at my favourite beauty products, and tips on anything from makeup application to organization. You can find me online @erin_angela_xo (Instagram) and @ErinAngela_xo (Twitter).

4 replies on “3 Common Blogger Mistakes You’re Probably Making and How to Avoid Them”

Leave a comment